Highlights

Highlights



Bathroom Trends

Swissbau Highlights
Bathrooms are moving away from their role as functional washrooms and increasingly becoming a cosy oasis for the senses offering all modern conveniences.

Absolute privacy – the bathroom

In entering the bathroom, people walk into their own private sphere. Dressing and sleeping areas, and relaxation and fitness zones are an individual’s own, highly personal world. High-grade furnishing schemes that overcome the boundaries between wet rooms and living rooms fit in with this aspiration. In the private residential building sector, interior designers are taking over the reins and focusing on the new living space as a whole for its individual configuration.  And these trends are also emerging in the rented residential building sector too. In parallel, modular bathroom programmes tailored to both small and big floor plans are offering attractive freedom in planning, especially for renovation work. This is due, not least to innovative materials and production processes which are what make it possible to develop completely new designs, shapes and dimensions at all. Hence, mineral-cast and composite materials, and thin-walled ceramics are changing the shape and aesthetics of washstands and bathtubs. Innovative glass is giving shower cubicles a transparent look, and walk-in solutions without visible mountings and attachments are all the rage. Carefully thought-out flooring and drainage systems are making step-free shower zones into the standard.



«IN THE BATHROOM, BARRIER-FREE COMFORT BATHS AND FITTINGS ARE A MAJOR TOPIC.»


TWB
In the bathroom, barrier-free comfort baths and fittings are a major topic.
Bathroom futures

The structure of society and demographic development, a wide range of different forms of living together and lifestyles, and the high demands placed on individuality are causing large numbers of decades-old planning standards to disappear – supported and driven by technological progress. In the bathroom, barrier-free comfort baths are a major topic, as well as fittings which can be used by everyone, despite physical limitations. Ingenious and attractive solutions in this field will not only appeal to older people. The concept of comfort also takes in the aspects of hygiene, safety, saving on water and energy efficiency. Free-formable, lightweight materials provide imaginatively styled bathtubs as a contrast to the classic tubs in ceramics or enamelled steel, which feature proudly as sculptures in the centre of the bathroom. Washstands and wash basins are similarly breaking out of their traditional patterns, offering surfaces like islands and granting greater freedom of movement. Electronic fittings are in the process of creating new ways of using and experiencing water: with a gentle touch, at the push of a button or contact-free. Finely dosed as a spray, forceful like a pulsating vortex, or a wide torrent, the water flows at the programmed favourite temperature from narrow necks or flat discs.
Swissbau Highlights
Everything where it belongs – skilfully placed storage surfaces ensure freedom of movement.
Exhibitors Bathroom Trends 2018
Artweger, Bekon-Koralle, Bodenschatz, Dornbracht, duka, Duravit, Duscholux, Effegibi, Franke Water Systems, Franz Kaldewei, Fratelli Fantini, Hansgrohe, HSK Swiss, Inda, Keramik Laufen, Küng Sauna & Spa, KWC, LaPreva, Schneider W. + Co., SIDLER Metallwaren, Similor, talsee, Villeroy & Boch, Vola

Kitchen Trends

Swissbau Highlights
Are the days of over-dimensioned extractor hoods now gone? These can now also be integrated in the cooker hob.

The kitchen cooks

The kitchen is part of the “public” living space: open to family life and everyday routines, ready for socialising with friends, equipped for large-scale cooking, and not only when guests arrive. Through its very function it is geared to comprehensive technical fittings and rationalisation, because, just like at any workplace, the labour-saving and time-saving aspects are what count here. Or perhaps not – or up to what point? Over the years, scarcely any other aspect of the home has been revolutionised by ingenious technologies to the same extent as housework. And now, in the age of digitisation, kitchens and washrooms are set to benefit once again. After household appliances had been further developed to make them highly energy efficient, the smallest of computer processors, microelectronic sensors and storage media are now giving rise to truly miraculous appliances that can do far more than simply saving work and time: they do the thinking too! The recipe for success: user-oriented programming. In all the different languages, the operating panels guide users intuitively and logically through the programmes on ovens, dishwashers, fridges, washing machines and tumble dryers. Fridges have different cooling zones for storing different foods. Hobs automatically recognise the pan size and can be finely adjusted to the cooking process.


«KITCHEN DESIGN IS GEARED TO MODULAR SYSTEMS, FREE SPACE AND A MULTI-MATERIAL MIX»


TWK
Back to nature – modern kitchens unite innovative technology with sensuous materials like natural wood.
Brave new kitchen world

Kitchen design is geared to modular systems, free space and a multi-material mix. The functional zones are configured to suit individual tastes. The sink unit is becoming a true food preparation centre – water-saving fittings with electronic controls, switch-in lighting and additional functions are changing the customary picture.  Multi-functionality, networking and automation are determining developments in appliances, while the self-assured handling of all the different interior design instruments are determining the design. Hence a cooking and eating zone feature in modern living rooms – just like a sofa, seating arrangements and a reading or TV corner. People are naturally mobile, flexible and open to all modern conveniences – as well as to everything that constitutes an expression of personality and individuality. Rigid furniture configurations are just as obsolete as yesterday’s technology.

TWK
Or natural quartz.

Patron's partner

Logo Küche Schweiz


Exhibitors Kitchen Trends 2018

Armony, Bora, Bulthaup, Cosentino, Cupa Swiss, Decozone, Franke, KIG Küchen Interessen Gilde, Küche Schweiz, Lindauer, Merial, Möbel Roth, Orea, Peka-Metall, SieMatic, Suter Inox, Team 7, Veriset, Wesco

«Raumwelten»

Raumwelten
Awaiting visitors is a creative overall experience on the subjects of floor, wall, celling, light and electrical installations, fireplaces and office and building furnishings.
 
The interior design section has traditionally been one of the highlights at Swissbau. The “Raumwelten” exhibition concept launched in 2016 has been further developed and will surprise visitors with special displays staged. The stand areas are surrounded by experimentation zones as well as by food and relaxation areas. Being part of the “Raumwelten” has a first-mover effect. Or, as Michel Hueter, managing director of the Design Prize Switzerland says:


«The “Raumwelten” extend the target groups to the fields of architecture, living, and product design.»




Eminent designers and architects for Swissbau

A large number of eminent design and architects’ offices responded to the call launched by Swissbau this spring to come up with a teaser for the Raumwelten. Eight teasers will be setting highlights at Swissbau 2018 in a surprising, sensuous and, in some cases, poetic manner, offering visitors playful access to topics and materials from the world of interior decoration. A welcome addition to the bustling trade fair environment. The following architects’ and design offices have had their project submissions selected by the jury:


Blaser Architekten, projects: «Apfelbaum», «Laube», «Spiegelkabinett»
El Hassani & Keller Architectes – Scénographes, project: «Augenblicke»
Cristina Belluci & Edgar Koller, project: «Dark Matter»
Bureau Hindermann, project: «#spectacularwater»
Studio Schaffer Basel, project: «Stückeins»
Gläser Projekt, project: «verspie(ge)lt»

Space 1em
Raumwelten Seifen
One of eight teasers: An impressive chandelier made from 1200 bars of soap in the form a hanging whirlpool. (Photo: A. Morgenstern / D. Sutter © Designers‘ Saturday)
Space 1em

Competitions & Exhibitions

Each year, Swissbau provides a conducive setting for a range of theme-related competitions, awards and exhibitions. Be there in person when the most promising products, solutions and talents are presented and receive awards.
Space 4em
UMSICHT, REGARDS, SGUARDI
Foyer Hall 1.0 Süd


The "Umsicht – Regards – Sguardi 2017" award winners will be on display in the Foyer of Hall 1.0. These are works that have been presented with prizes by the Swiss Society of Engineers and Architects (SIA), which contribute in an outstanding, innovative manner to the future-oriented shaping of living space.

umsicht regards sguardi 17

umsicht regards sguardi 17

DESIGN PRIZE SWITZERLAND
Hall 2.0, Stand E01 | G02 | H01

With 45 nominations, the 2017/18 edition of the Design Prize Switzerland has set a new record.

This reflects the increase in terms of both quality and content that has been attained in the projects and products submitted this year. The large number of nominated works shows that Swiss design has further boosted its international competitiveness in all the different disciplines. This achievement is also expressed in the new prize category launched last November – the Design Leadership Prize: Focus Ageing Society.

You will find all the winners and nominees here.

Design Preis Schweiz

ARCHITECTURE PRIZE AND BEST CONVERSION
Hall 2.2 | D10

The magazines "Das Ideale Heim" and "Umbauen + Renovieren" are staging an architecture competition to find the best detached house and the best conversion.

www.architekturpreise.ch

Presentation of the prize: Thursday, 18 January 2018, on the stand.

Logo Architekturpreise

SEMI-FINAL SWISS BRICKLAYERS' CHAMPIONSHIPS – LOOKING FOR THE BEST SWISS BRICKLAYERS!
Hall 3.1

On the occasion of Swissbau, the ten best young bricklayers from all over Switzerland are competing against each other. Those in the top five places then participate in the finals at SwissSkills 2018 in Bern. The winner of the Swiss championship will be able to take part in WorldSkills 2019, which is being staged in Kazan (Russia).

Schweizer Meisterschaft Maurer

EXHIBITION AND PRESENTATION OF THE FOUNDATION AWARD
Hall 4

The Foundation Award is a prize for young and innovative Swiss architects' offices. Each year, three architects' offices selected by a top-notch jury receive cash and non-cash prizes worth 24,000 francs. This year's award is being presented on the occasion of Swissbau 2018, at 17:15 on 18 January 2018 in Hall 4.

Foundation Award

Highlights

Highlights



Trendwelt Bad

Swissbau Highlights
Das Bad entwickelt sich vom funktionalen Waschraum immer weiter in Richtung einer wohnlichen Sinnesoase mit allem Komfort.

Total privat – das Bad

Mit dem Bad betritt man Privatsphäre. Ankleide, Schlafbereich, Ruhe- und Fitnesszonen sind eine eigene, ganz persönliche Welt. Ästhetisch hochwertige Einrichtungsprogramme, welche die Grenzen zwischen Nass- und Wohnraum aufheben, werden diesem Anspruch gerecht. Im privaten Wohnungsbau übernimmt die Innenarchitektur das Zepter und den neuen Wohnbereich als Ganzes zur individuellen Ausgestaltung ins Visier. Und auch im Mietwohnungsbereich zeigen sich diese Tendenzen; parallel dazu bieten modulare Badprogramme für kleine wiegrosse Grundrisse attraktive Planungsfreiheit, insbesondere bei Renovationen. Zu verdanken ist dies nicht zuletzt innovativen Werkstoffen, Materialien und Produktionsverfahren, die es überhaupt erst ermöglichen, völlig neue Designentwürfe, Formen und Dimensionen zu entwickeln. So verändern Mineralguss- und Verbundwerkstoffe oder dünnwandige Keramik Form und Ästhetik von Waschtischen und Badewannen. Der Dusche verleihen innovative Gläser ein transparentes Gesicht, Walk-in-Lösungen ohne sichtbare Beschläge und Befestigungen liegen im Trend. Durchdachte Boden- und Ablaufsysteme machen schwellenlose Duschbereiche zum Standard.



«Im Bad sind barrierefreie Komfortbäder sowie Ausstattungen ein grosses Thema.»


Trendwelt Bad
Im Bad sind barrierefreie Komfortbäder sowie Ausstattungen ein grosses Thema.
Zukunft Bad

Gesellschaftsstruktur und demografische Entwicklung, unterschiedlichste Formen des Zusammenlebens und der Lebensstile sowie der hohe Anspruch an Individualität lassen zahlreiche, jahrzehntelang gültige Planungsstandards verschwinden – unterstützt und angetrieben durch die Fortschritte der Technik. Im Bad sind barrierefreie Komfortbäder sowie Ausstattungen, die trotz körperlicher Einschränkungen genutzt werden können, ein grosses Thema. Kluge wie attraktive Lösungen in diesem Bereich finden nicht nur bei älteren Menschen Gefallen. Der Komfortbegriff umfasst dabei auch die Themen Hygiene, Sicherheit, Wassersparen und Energieeffizienz. Frei formbare, leichte Materialien stellen den klassischen Badewannen aus Keramik oder Stahl-Email fantasievoll gestylte Varianten gegenüber, die sich skulptural und selbstbewusst mitten im Bad exponieren. Auch Waschtische und Lavabos brechen aus gewohnten Rastern aus, bieten Ablageflächen wie Inseln und schenken mehr Bewegungsfreiheit. Elektronische Armaturen sind auf dem Weg, Wasser neu nutz- und erfahrbar zu machen: Mit einer sanften Berührung, per Knopfdruck oder berührungslos. Fein dosiert als Sprühregen, kräftig als pulsierender Wirbel oder in breitem Schwall ergiesst sich das Nass in programmierter Lieblingstemperatur aus schlanken Hälsen oder flachen Scheiben.
Space 1em
Swissbau Highlights
Alles an seinem Platz – geschickt platzierte Ablageflächen schenken Bewegungsfreiheit.
Aussteller Trendwelt Bad 2018
Artweger, Bekon-Koralle, Bodenschatz, Dornbracht, duka, Duravit, Duscholux, Effegibi, Franke Water Systems, Franz Kaldewei, Fratelli Fantini, Hansgrohe, HSK Swiss, Inda, Keramik Laufen, Küng Sauna & Spa, KWC, LaPreva, Schneider W. + Co., SIDLER Metallwaren, Similor, talsee, Villeroy & Boch, Vola

Trendwelt Küche

Swissbau Highlights
Sind die Zeiten von überdimensionalen Dunstabzugshauben passé? Dieser kann auch ins Kochfeld integriert werden.

Die Küche kocht

Die Küche gehört zum «öffentlichen» Wohnbereich: offen für das Familienleben und alltägliche Routinen, bereit für das gesellige Miteinander mit Freunden, ausgestattet für grosses Kochen, nicht nur wenn Gäste kommen. Aus ihrer Funktion heraus ist sie ausgerichtet auf umfassende technische Ausrüstung und Rationalisierung, weil es ja auch hier, wie an jedem Arbeitsplatz, um Arbeits- und Zeitersparnis geht. Oder doch nicht, beziehungsweise bis wohin? Kaum ein Sektor des Zuhauses wurde durch clevere Technologien im Laufe der Jahrzehnte derart revolutioniert wie die Hausarbeit. Und vom Zeitalter der Digitalisierung profitieren Küche und Waschraum erneut. Nachdem die Geräte äusserst erfolgreich auf Energieeffizienz getrimmt wurden, machenes kleinste Computerprozessoren, mikroelektronische Sensoren und Speichermedien möglich, dass wahre Wunderapparate entstehen, die weit mehr können, als nur Arbeit und Zeit zu sparen: Sie denken mit! Das Erfolgsrezept: Benutzerorientierte Programmierung. In allen Sprachen leiten die Bedienpanels intuitiv und logisch durch die Programme von Backofen, Geschirrspüler, Kühlschrank, Waschmaschine und Trockner. Kühlschränke kühlen lebensmittelgerecht in unterschiedlichen Kältezonen. Kochfelder erkennen automatisch die Pfannengrösse und richten sich fein regulierbar auf den Kochvorgang aus.


«Küchendesign setzt auf Modularität, auf Freiraum und einen Multi-Mix der Materialien.»

Trendwelt Küche
Zurück zur Natur – moderne Küchen vereinen innovative Technik mit sinnlichen Materialien wie Naturholz.
Schöne neue Küchenwelt

Küchendesign setzt auf Modularität, auf Freiraum und einen Multi-Mix der Materialien. Die Funktionszonen werden nach individuellem Gusto ausgestaltet. Dabei entwickelt sich die Spüle zu einem veritablen Rüst- und Anrichtezentrum – wassersparende Armaturen mit elektronischer Bedienung, zuschaltbarem Licht und weiteren Funktonen verändern das gewohnte Bild. Multifunktionalität, Vernetzung und Automatisierung bestimmen die Entwicklungen bei den Geräten – ein selbstverständlicher Umgang mit allen Instrumenten der Innenarchitektur das Design. So gehören zum modernen Livingroom der Koch- und Essbereich einfach dazu – wie das Sofa, die Sitzgruppe, die Lese- oder TV-Ecke. Natürlich ist man dabei mobil, flexibel und offen für allen Komfort – und für alles, was Persönlichkeit und Individualität zum Ausdruck bringt. Starre Einrichtungsraster haben da ebenso ausgedient wie Technik von gestern.

Trendwelt Küche
Oder Naturquarz.

Patronatspartner

Logo Küche Schweiz


Aussteller Trendwelt Küche 2018
Armony, Bora, Bulthaup, Cosentino, Cupa Swiss, Decozone, Franke, KIG Küchen Interessen Gilde, Küche Schweiz, Lindauer, Merial, Möbel Roth, Orea, Peka-Metall, SieMatic, Suter Inox, Team 7, Veriset, Wesco


Raumwelten

Raumwelten
Die Besucher erwartet ein kreatives Gesamterlebnis zu den Themen Boden, Wand, Decke, Licht und Elektroinstallationen, Cheminées sowie Büro und Objekteinrichtungen.
 
Der Bereich Innenausbau gehört traditionell zu den Highlights der Swissbau. Das 2016 lancierte Ausstellungskonzept Raumwelten zeigt sich weiterentwickelt und überrascht mit besonderen Inszenierungen. Umsäumt sind die Standflächen von Experimentierfeldern sowie Food- und Relax-Zonen. Teil der Raumwelten zu sein, hat einen First-Mover-Effekt. Oder wie es Michel Hueter, Geschäftsführer des Design Preis Schweiz, ausdrückt:


«Die Raumwelten bedeuten eine Erweiterung der Zielgruppen in den Bereichen Architektur, Wohnen und Produktdesign.»




Raumwelten
Neuartige Materialien und Formen stehen im Mittelpunkt.
Eintauchen in neue Welten

Das Konzept Raumwelten basiert auf dem speziellen Industriedesign der Halle 2.0 und bindet Aussteller aus den Bereichen Boden, Wand, Decke, Licht und Elektroinstallationen, Cheminées sowie Büro und Objekteinrichtungen in ein kreatives Gesamterlebnis ein. Drei Gestaltungsebenen prägen die Wahrnehmung der Besucher. Erstens verändert eine neue Einteilung der «klassischen Standflächen» die Wegführung und lässt so eine abwechslungsreiche Zone für Präsentation und Austausch entstehen. Zweitens finden sich als Pendant zu diesen aktiven und geschäftigen Bereichen rund um den Innenhof der Halle mehrere stimmungsvolle Food- und Relax-Zonen. Und drittens wird die Fantasie der Besucher mit neuartigen Experimentierfeldern – so genannten «Teasern» – zusätzlich angeregt.
Renommierte Designer und Architekten für die Swissbau

Dem Aufruf der Swissbau, einen Teaser für die Raumwelten zu gestalten, sind dieses Frühjahr eine Vielzahl von renommierten Design- und Architekturbüros gefolgt. Acht Teaser werden nun auf überraschende, sinnliche und teilweise auch poetische Art und Weise Akzente an der Swissbau 2018 setzten und den Besuchern einen spielerischen Zugang zu Themen und Materialien aus dem Innenausbau geben. Eine willkommene Ergänzung zum umtriebigen Messegeschehen. Folgende Architektur- und Designbüros wurden mit ihren Projekteingaben von der Fachjury ausgewählt:

Blaser Architekten, Projekte: «Apfelbaum», «Laube», «Spiegelkabinett»
El Hassani & Keller Architectes – Scénographes, Projekt: «Augenblicke»
Cristina Belluci & Edgar Koller, Projekt: «Dark Matter»
Bureau Hindermann, Projekt: «#spectacularwater»
Studio Schaffer Basel, Projekt: «Stückeins»
Gläser Projekt, Projekt: «verspie(ge)lt»
Space 1em
Raumwelten Seifen
Einer von acht Teasern: Projekt «#spectacularwater» aus 1200 Seifen in Form eines hängenden Wasserwirbels. (Foto: A. Morgenstern / D. Sutter © Designers‘ Saturday)
Space 1em

Wettbewerbe & Ausstellungen

Die Swissbau bietet jedes Jahr einen passenden Rahmen für verschiedene themenbezogene Wettbewerbe, Preisverleihungen und Ausstellungen. Seien Sie live dabei, wenn die vielversprechendsten Produkte, Lösungen und Talente präsentiert und ausgezeichnet werden.
Space 4em
UMSICHT, REGARDS, SGUARDI
Foyer Halle 1.0 Süd

Die Auszeichnung Umsicht – Regards – Sguardi 2017 wird im Foyer der Halle 1.0 gezeigt. Sie präsentiert vom SIA ausgezeichnete Werke, die in hervorragender, innovativer Weise zur zukunftsfähigen Gestaltung des Lebensraumes beitragen.

umsicht regards sguardi 17

umsicht regards sguardi 17

DESIGN PREIS SCHWEIZ
Halle 2.0, Stand E01 | G02 | H01

Mit 45 Nominationen weist die Edition 2017/18 des Design Preis Schweiz einen neuen Höchststand aus.

In ihm manifestiert sich sowohl die qualitative wie auch inhaltliche Steigerung, die mit den in diesem Jahr eingereichten Projekten und Produkten erreicht wurde. Die Vielfalt der nominierten Arbeiten zeigt, dass Schweizer Design in allen Disziplinen an internationaler Wettbewerbsfähigkeit weiter zugelegt hat. Diese Leistungsfähigkeit zum Ausdruck bringt auch die im letzten November neu lancierten Preiskategorie Design Leadership Prize: Focus Ageing Society.

Alle Gewinner sowie die Nominierten finden Sie hier.


Design Preis Schweiz

ARCHITEKTURPREIS UND BESTER UMBAU
Halle 2.2 | D10

Die Zeitschriften Das Ideale Heim und Umbauen + Renovieren suchen in einem Architekturwettbewerb «Das beste Einfamilienhaus» und «Der beste Umbau».

www.architekturpreise.ch
 
Preisverleihung: Donnerstag, 18. Januar 2018 am Stand.

Logo Architekturpreise

HALBFINAL SCHWEIZER MEISTERSCHAFT DER MAURER - DIE BESTEN SCHWEIZER MAURER SIND GESUCHT!
Halle 3.1

Anlässlich der Swissbau messen sich die zehn besten Jungmaurer der ganzen Schweiz. Die fünf Erstklassierten bestreiten anschliessend den Final an den SwissSkills 2018 in Bern. Dem Gewinner der Schweizer Meisterschaft winkt die Teilnahme an den WorldSkills 2019 in Kasan (Russland).

Schweizer Meisterschaft Maurer


AUSSTELLUNG UND PREISVERLEIHUNG FOUNDATION AWARD
Halle 4

Der Foundation Award ist ein Förderpreis für junge, innovative Schweizer Architekturbüros. Jährlich erhalten 3 von einer hochkarätigen Jury ausgewählte Büros Geld- und Sachpreise im Wert von 24'000 Franken. Die diesjährige Preisverleihung findet während der Swissbau 2018 statt am 18. Januar 2018 um 17.15 Uhr in Halle 4.

Foundation Award