Swissbau

Tying it all together.

The leading trade fair for the construction and real estate industry in Switzerland.

Sustainability at Swissbau

Nachhaltigkeit

Outstanding sustainability

Corporate success requires a sustainable econimic, ecological and social performance. Sustainable thinking and action have shaped our Group's more than 100-year history and will also determine the path we adopt in future. The MCH Group  wishes to assume a key role in respect of sustainability in the exhibition and event sector.
Business activity

The MCH Group’s business activity has a high economic, ecological and social sustainability value.  Its marketing platforms and solutions contribute to the success of a large number of companies. Through their concentration in terms of time and location, live events have key economic and ecological advantages for all those involved, since they obviate the need for a large number of journeys around the globe. In addition, live platforms offer the ideal opportunity for taking up sustainability topics and thus contributing to progress in this respect.

Sustainability goals


The MCH Group thus endeavours to promote sustainable behaviour on all levels and to constantly improve its economic, ecological and social sustainability indicators.
•    It aims to further develop its product and services portfolio in a future-orientated and innovation-driven manner.
•    It continually invests in optimising the ecological indicators for running its buildings and systems and in the organisation and staging of events.
•    It assumes its social responsibility by supporting employees in assuming legally and ethically correct and responsible behaviour.

Online sustainability report: https://reports.mch-group.com/18/ar/de/einleitung_nachhaltigkeit/

Energy efficiency

Almost 90% of Messe Basel’s overall energy requirements are met by renewable energies. All the electricity consumed comes from renewable sources. Hall 1 south has been awarded the BS-054 minergie label. Energy efficiency is being constantly boosted in accordance with the statutory requirements.

Energy consumption and emissions at Messe Basel

Energieverbrauch

Emissionen

In 2018, overall energy consumption at Messe Basel (excluding the administration) totalled 23,875 MWh. Of this, 89% was in the form of renewable energies.  

Messe Basel covers its electricity requirements with electricity from the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB). IWB electricity is 100% renewable energy generated with IWB’s own power plant capacities, primarily from Swiss hydropower.

When a comparison is drawn with the indicators for the previous year, consideration must be given to the different numbers of events staged.

Minergie Certificate for Hall 1 South at Messe Basel.


During the construction of Hall 1 South at Messe Basel, which was completed in 2013, key importance was attached to achieving the greatest possible energy efficiency in both the insulation for the building shell and the provision of the necessary heating and cooling energy in a manner that is sparing on resources. All the heating, ventilation and refrigeration systems are operated only when required and the majority of the waste heat generated is used.

The Basel-Stadt Minergie certification agency awarded the exhibition hall the BS-054 Minergie Label that had been developed especially for it. In addition, the target values of SIA Standard 380/4 are met by this, the newest exhibition hall, in respect of lighting and ventilation/air-conditioning.

Boosting energy efficiency

The Canton of Basel Stadt obliges major energy consumers, such as Messe Basel, to analyse their energy consumption and to take measures to reduce it. The canton is calling for a 2% increase in efficiency every year for electrical energy and heating energy. This requirement must be fulfilled as of 2020.

In implementing this statutory obligation, Messe Basel is receiving support from the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB). The IWB is compiling a current status and potential analysis on the purchase of energy together with a list of efficiency-boosting measures. They are additionally drawing up a cantonal target agreement with the Environmental Protection and Energy Agency (AUE). This target agreement is one of the models offered by the Canton of Basel-Stadt for implementing the statutory requirements. It has the advantage that the Messe Basel infrastructure is being assessed and optimised in overall terms. The IWB is responsible for the annual reporting to the cantonal energy office. The first report of this nature is being compiled for 2020.samt beurteilt und optimiert wird. Für das jährliche Reporting an die kantonale Energiefachstelle ist die IWB verantwortlich. Ein erster diesbezüglicher Report wird für das Jahr 2020 erstellt.


Solar energy

Photovoltaic systems on the roofs of Messe Basel produce solar electricity for some 300 single-family homes with four-person households.
Photovoltaik
A photovoltaic system was installed on the roof of Hall 1 North in Basel in 1999 already, with vegetation planted on the roof at the same time, thus permitting the use of solar energy. The panels have an area of 1900 m² and an output of 215 000 kWh per year. A system four times this size was set up on the green roof of Hall 1 South, which was completed in 2013. This photovoltaic system, which was installed in cooperation with an investor, feeds approximately 1 080 000 kWh electricity annually into the grid of the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB), which took over the system in 2014.

We also support the "Wettstein 21" platform, which was responsible for the installation of a further photovoltaic system on the roof of the Congress Center Basel. This was completed at the end of 2014 and delivers around 180,000 kWh electricity each year. The roof space is made available free of charge.

Logistics

The traffic required for setting up and dismantling the events is controlled by logistics concepts and traffic systems to keep the burden on the environment and the local neighbourhood as low as possible.
Delivery traffic to Messe Basel is steered via a checkpoint-based system, for which the corresponding online tool has been developed. All journeys made to transport goods to and from the exhibition site must be registered in advance for a specific time slot. Drivers are required to drive to a checkpoint, from where their lorries are directed to the delivery zone of the hall in question at the specified time, via a specified route. The vehicle then has to be unloaded/loaded within a given period of time. This ensures that traffic searching for parking spaces and traffic congestion is kept to a minimum. Deliveries are also made underground whenever possible.

To ensure that the entire logistics of journeys to and from Messe Basel can be controlled in an optimum manner, all movements within the exhibition site are performed by Sempex, the Messe Basel logistics partner. Sempex has developed a quality management system to ISO 9001. The management continually reviews the implementation of the specified measures for attaining the environmental and energy targets. These are laid down in the company’s environmental and energy policies and undergo constant further development to ensure their continuous improvement.

Share our content with others

Swissbau

Bringt alles zusammen.

Die führende Fachmesse der Bau- und Immobilienwirtschaft in der Schweiz.

Nachhaltigkeit an der Swissbau

Nachhaltigkeit

Herausragende Nachhaltigkeit

Unternehmenserfolg setzt nachhaltige ökonomische, ökologische und gesellschaftliche Leistunen voraus. Nachhaltiges Denken und Handeln haben die über 100-jährige Geschiuchte unseres Unternehmens geprägt und sollen auch den Weg in die Zukunft bestimmen. Die MCH Group will in Bezug auf die Nachhaltigkeit in der Messe- und Eventbranche eine führende Rolle wahrnehmen.
Geschäftstätigkeit

Die Geschäftstätigkeit der MCH Group hat einen hohen wirtschaftlichen, ökologischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeitswert. Ihre Marketing-Plattformen und -Lösungen tragen zum Geschäftserfolg zahlreicher Unternehmen bei. Durch die zeit- und ortsbezogene Konzentration haben Live Events für alle Beteiligte bedeutende ökonomische und ökologische Vorteile, weil sich damit viele Reisen rund um den Globus erübrigen. Zudem bieten Live Plattformen ideale Möglichkeiten, Themen der Nachhaltigkeit aufzugreifen und damit zu diesbezüglichen Fortschritten beizutragen.

Nachhaltigkeits-Ziele

Die MCH Group ist bestrebt, in allen Bereichen und auf allen Stufen das nachhaltige Verhalten zu fördern und die ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren laufend zu verbessern.
•    Sie strebt eine zukunftsorientierte und innovationsgetriebene Weiterentwicklung des Produkte- und Dienstleistungsportfolios an.
•    Sie investiert laufend in die Optimierung der ökologischen Indikatoren beim Betrieb der Gebäude und Anlagen sowie in die Organisation und Durchführung der Veranstaltungen.
•    Sie nimmt ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahr, indem die Mitarbeitenden unterstützt werden, sich rechtlich und ethisch korrekt und verantwortungsbewusst zu verhalten.

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht Online: https://reports.mch-group.com/18/ar/de/einleitung_nachhaltigkeit/

Energieeffizienz

Fast 90% des Gesamtenergieverbrauchs der Messe Basel stammen aus erneuerbaren Energien. Der Stromverbrauch wird zu 100% aus erneuerbarer Energie gewonnen. Die Halle 1 Süd ist mit dem Minergie-Label BS-054 ausgezeichnet. Die Energieeffizienz wird den gesetzlichen Vorgaben entsprechend laufend gesteigert.

Energieverbrauch und Emissionen Messe Basel

Energieverbrauch

Emissionen

Der Gesamtenergieverbrauch der Messe Basel (ohne Verwaltung) belief sich im Jahr 2018 auf 23'875 MWh. 89% davon stammen aus erneuerbaren Energien.

Die Messe Basel deckt ihren Strombedarf mit Strom der Industriellen Werke Basel (IWB). IWB-Strom ist zu 100% erneuerbare Energie, die mit eigenen Kraftwerkskapazitäten grösstenteils aus Schweizer Wasserkraft gewonnen wird.

Die Vorjahresvergleiche der Kennzahlen müssen in Abhängigkeit mit dem unterschiedlich dichten Veranstaltungsprogramm betrachtet werden.

Minergie-Zertifikat der Halle 1 Süd der Messe Basel

Bei der 2013 fertig erstellten Halle 1 Süd der Messe Basel ist grosser Wert daraufgelegt worden, die grösstmögliche Energieeffizienz zu erreichen, sowohl in Bezug auf die Dämmung der Hülle als auch in Bezug auf eine ressourcenschonende Bereitstellung der benötigten Wärme- und Kälteenergie. Alle Heizungs-, Lüftungs- und Kälteanlagen werden bedarfsabhängig betrieben, die anfallende Abwärme wird grösstenteils genutzt.

Die Minergie-Zertifizierungsstelle Basel-Stadt hat das Minergie-Label BS-054 verliehen. Das Zertifikat ist eigens für dieses Messe-Gebäude entwickelt worden. Zusätzlich werden bei dieser neusten Messehalle die Zielwerte der SIA-Norm 380 / 4 bezüglich Beleuchtung und Lüftung / Klimatisierung eingehalten.

Steigerung der Energieeffizienz

Der Kanton Basel-Stadt verpflichtet Energie-Grossverbraucher wie die Messe Basel, ihren Energieverbrauch zu analysieren und Massnahmen zur Verbrauchsreduktion zu realisieren. Die kantonale Vorgabe sieht eine jährliche Effizienzsteigerung im Bereich der Strom- und Wärmenergie von 2% vor. Ab 2020 muss die Vorgabe erfüllt sein.

Die Messe Basel wird in der Umsetzung dieser gesetzlichen Verpflichtung von den Industriellen Werken Basel (IWB) unterstützt. Die IWB erstellen eine Ist-Zustand- und Potentialanalyse zum Energiebezug und eine Liste mit Effizienzsteigerungsmassnahmen. Sie erarbeiten zudem eine kantonale Zielvereinbarung mit dem Amt für Umwelt und Energie (AUE). Diese Zielvereinbarung ist eines der Modelle, die der Kanton Basel-Stadt zur Umsetzung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben anbietet. Sie hat den Vorteil, dass die Infrastruktur der Messe insgesamt beurteilt und optimiert wird. Für das jährliche Reporting an die kantonale Energiefachstelle ist die IWB verantwortlich. Ein erster diesbezüglicher Report wird für das Jahr 2020 erstellt.


Solarenergie

Photovoltaikanlagen auf den Dächern der Messe Basel produzieren Solarstrom für rund 300 Einfamilienhäuser mit einem Vier-Personen-Haushalt.
Photovoltaik
Bereits 1999 wurde auf dem Dach der Halle 1 Nord in Basel eine Photovoltaikanlage mit integrierter Dachbegrünung installiert, welche die Nutzung von Solarenergie ermöglicht. Sie hat eine Panelfläche von 1'900 m² mit einer Leistung von 215'000 kWh pro Jahr. Eine viermal so grosse Anlage ist auf dem begrünten Dach der 2013 fertig erstellten Halle 1 Süd errichtet worden. Diese Photovoltaikanlage, die in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Investor erstellt worden ist, speist jährlich rund 1'080'000 kWh Strom ins Netz der Industriellen Werke Basel (IWB), welche die Anlage im Jahr 2014 übernommen haben.

Wir unterstützen zudem die Plattform «Wettstein 21», welche für die Installation einer weiteren Photovoltaikanlage auf dem Dach des Congress Center Basel verantwortlich ist. Diese ist Ende 2014 realisiert worden und liefert jährlich rund 180'000 kWh Strom. Die Dachfläche ist gratis zur Verfügung gestellt worden.

Logistik

Der für den Aufbau und den Abbau der Veranstaltungen notwendige Verkehr wird durch Logistikkonzepte Verkehrsregimes gesteuert, um die Belastungen der Umwelt und des Umfeldes möglichst niedrig zu halten.
Der Anlieferungsverkehr der Messe Basel wird durch ein Verkehrsregime via Checkpoint gesteuert, wofür ein entsprechendes Online-Tool entwickelt worden ist. Sämtliche Transporte zum Messegelände müssen bereits im Vorfeld für ein bestimmtes Zeitfenster angemeldet werden. Vom Checkpoint aus, den die Chauffeure anfahren müssen, werden die LKW zur festgelegten Zeit über eine bestimmte Route zur Anlieferungszone der entsprechenden Halle dirigiert, wo sie innert einer vorgegebenen Zeit entladen bzw. beladen sein müssen. Dadurch können Suchverkehr und Verkehrsstaus minimiert werden. Es wird zudem darauf geachtet, dass die Anlieferung wenn immer möglich unterirdisch erfolgen kann.

Um die ganze Logistik der Anlieferung und des Abtransports optimal steuern zu können, werden alle Bewegungen auf dem Messegelände durch den Logistik Partner der Messe Basel – Sempex – getätigt. Sempex hat ein Qualitäts-Management-System gemäss ISO 9001 aufgebaut. Die Geschäftsleitung überprüft laufend die Umsetzung der festgelegten Massnahmen zur Erreichung der Umwelt- und Energieziele. Diese sind in der Umwelt- und Energiepolitik des Unternehmens festgehalten, die im Sinne einer kontinuierlichen Verbesserung ständig weiterentwickelt werden.

Teilen Sie unsere Inhalte mit anderen