Swissbau

Tying it all together.

The leading trade fair for the construction and real estate industry in Switzerland.

Sustainability at Swissbau

Nachhaltigkeit

Outstanding sustainability

Corporate success requires a sustainable econimic, ecological and social performance. Sustainable thinking and action have shaped our Group's more than 100-year history and will also determine the path we adopt in future. The MCH Group  wishes to assume a key role in respect of sustainability in the exhibition and event sector.
Business activity

The MCH Group’s business activity has a high economic, ecological and social sustainability value.  Its marketing platforms and solutions contribute to the success of a large number of companies. Through their concentration in terms of time and location, live events have key economic and ecological advantages for all those involved, since they obviate the need for a large number of journeys around the globe. In addition, live platforms offer the ideal opportunity for taking up sustainability topics and thus contributing to progress in this respect.

Sustainability goals


The MCH Group thus endeavours to promote sustainable behaviour on all levels and to constantly improve its economic, ecological and social sustainability indicators.
•    It aims to further develop its product and services portfolio in a future-orientated and innovation-driven manner.
•    It continually invests in optimising the ecological indicators for running its buildings and systems and in the organisation and staging of events.
•    It assumes its social responsibility by supporting employees in assuming legally and ethically correct and responsible behaviour.

Online sustainability report: https://reports.mch-group.com/18/ar/de/einleitung_nachhaltigkeit/

Energy efficiency

Almost 90% of Messe Basel’s overall energy requirements are met by renewable energies. All the electricity consumed comes from renewable sources. Hall 1 south has been awarded the BS-054 minergie label. Energy efficiency is being constantly boosted in accordance with the statutory requirements.

Energy consumption and emissions at Messe Basel

Energieverbrauch

Emissionen

In 2018, overall energy consumption at Messe Basel (excluding the administration) totalled 23,875 MWh. Of this, 89% was in the form of renewable energies.  

Messe Basel covers its electricity requirements with electricity from the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB). IWB electricity is 100% renewable energy generated with IWB’s own power plant capacities, primarily from Swiss hydropower.

When a comparison is drawn with the indicators for the previous year, consideration must be given to the different numbers of events staged.

Minergie Certificate for Hall 1 South at Messe Basel.


During the construction of Hall 1 South at Messe Basel, which was completed in 2013, key importance was attached to achieving the greatest possible energy efficiency in both the insulation for the building shell and the provision of the necessary heating and cooling energy in a manner that is sparing on resources. All the heating, ventilation and refrigeration systems are operated only when required and the majority of the waste heat generated is used.

The Basel-Stadt Minergie certification agency awarded the exhibition hall the BS-054 Minergie Label that had been developed especially for it. In addition, the target values of SIA Standard 380/4 are met by this, the newest exhibition hall, in respect of lighting and ventilation/air-conditioning.

Boosting energy efficiency

The Canton of Basel Stadt obliges major energy consumers, such as Messe Basel, to analyse their energy consumption and to take measures to reduce it. The canton is calling for a 2% increase in efficiency every year for electrical energy and heating energy. This requirement must be fulfilled as of 2020.

In implementing this statutory obligation, Messe Basel is receiving support from the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB). The IWB is compiling a current status and potential analysis on the purchase of energy together with a list of efficiency-boosting measures. They are additionally drawing up a cantonal target agreement with the Environmental Protection and Energy Agency (AUE). This target agreement is one of the models offered by the Canton of Basel-Stadt for implementing the statutory requirements. It has the advantage that the Messe Basel infrastructure is being assessed and optimised in overall terms. The IWB is responsible for the annual reporting to the cantonal energy office. The first report of this nature is being compiled for 2020.samt beurteilt und optimiert wird. Für das jährliche Reporting an die kantonale Energiefachstelle ist die IWB verantwortlich. Ein erster diesbezüglicher Report wird für das Jahr 2020 erstellt.


Solar energy

Photovoltaic systems on the roofs of Messe Basel produce solar electricity for some 300 single-family homes with four-person households.
Photovoltaik
A photovoltaic system was installed on the roof of Hall 1 North in Basel in 1999 already, with vegetation planted on the roof at the same time, thus permitting the use of solar energy. The panels have an area of 1900 m² and an output of 215 000 kWh per year. A system four times this size was set up on the green roof of Hall 1 South, which was completed in 2013. This photovoltaic system, which was installed in cooperation with an investor, feeds approximately 1 080 000 kWh electricity annually into the grid of the Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB), which took over the system in 2014.

We also support the "Wettstein 21" platform, which was responsible for the installation of a further photovoltaic system on the roof of the Congress Center Basel. This was completed at the end of 2014 and delivers around 180,000 kWh electricity each year. The roof space is made available free of charge.

Logistics

The traffic required for setting up and dismantling the events is controlled by logistics concepts and traffic systems to keep the burden on the environment and the local neighbourhood as low as possible.
Delivery traffic to Messe Basel is steered via a checkpoint-based system, for which the corresponding online tool has been developed. All journeys made to transport goods to and from the exhibition site must be registered in advance for a specific time slot. Drivers are required to drive to a checkpoint, from where their lorries are directed to the delivery zone of the hall in question at the specified time, via a specified route. The vehicle then has to be unloaded/loaded within a given period of time. This ensures that traffic searching for parking spaces and traffic congestion is kept to a minimum. Deliveries are also made underground whenever possible.

To ensure that the entire logistics of journeys to and from Messe Basel can be controlled in an optimum manner, all movements within the exhibition site are performed by Sempex, the Messe Basel logistics partner. Sempex has developed a quality management system to ISO 9001. The management continually reviews the implementation of the specified measures for attaining the environmental and energy targets. These are laid down in the company’s environmental and energy policies and undergo constant further development to ensure their continuous improvement.

Share our content with others

Swissbau

Unir et réunir.

Le salon leader de la construction et de l'immobilier en Suisse.

Le developpement durable a Swissbau

Nachhaltigkeit

Une durabilité remarquable

Le succes d’une entreprise passe par des performances economiques, ecologiques et sociales durables. La reflexion et l’action durable ont marque l’histoire plus que centenaire de notre entreprise et doivent également tracer la voie a suivre pour l’avenir. MCH Group entend jouer un rôle de premier plan en termes de developpement durable dans le secteur des foires et evenements.
Activités

Les activités de MCH Group ont une grande valeur de durabilité économique, écologique et sociale. Ses plateformes et solutions marketing contribuent au succès commercial de nombreuses entreprises. Grâce à leur concentration dans le temps et dans l’espace, les événements en direct présentent des avantages économiques et écologiques importants pour tous les participants, car ils économisent de nombreux déplacements autour du globe. En outre, les plates-formes en direct offrent des possibilités idéales d’aborder les questions de durabilité et ainsi de contribuer aux progrès dans ce domaine.

Objectifs de durabilité


MCH Group a la volonté de promouvoir un comportement durable dans tous les domaines et à tous les niveaux et d’améliorer en permanence les indicateurs économiques, écologiques et sociaux du développement durable.
•    Il s’efforce de poursuivre le développement du portefeuille de produits et de services dans une optique d’avenir et d’innovation.
•    Il investit en permanence dans l’optimisation des indicateurs écologiques pour l’exploitation des bâtiments et des installations ainsi que dans l’organisation et le déroulement des événements.
•    Il assume sa responsabilité sociale en encourageant ses collaborateurs/trices à se comporter de manière juridiquement et éthiquement correcte et responsable.

Rapport de développement durable en ligne: https://reports.mch-group.com/18/ar/de/einleitung_nachhaltigkeit/

Efficacité énergétique

Près de 90% de l’énergie totale consommée par la foire de bâle proviennent d’énergies renouvelables. 100% de la consommation d’electricité sont produits par des énergies renouvelables. La halle 1 sud a reçu le label minergie BS-054. L’efficacité énergétique est continuellement ameliorée conformement aux exigences légales.

Consommation d’énergie et émissions de la Foire de Bâle

Energieverbrauch

Emissionen

La consommation totale d’énergie de la Foire de Bâle (hors administration) s’est élevée à 23 875 MWh en 2018. 89 % de cette énergie sont issus d’énergies renouvelables.

La Foire de Bâle couvre ses besoins en courant électrique avec l’électricité d’Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB). L’électricité d’IWB est une énergie 100 % renouvelable, produite en grande partie à partir de l’énergie hydraulique suisse avec ses propres capacités de production.

La comparaison des chiffres clés avec l’année précédente doit être effectuée en tenant compte de la densité variable du programme de manifestations.

Certificat Minergie de la halle 1 Sud de la Foire de Bâle

Pour la nouvelle halle 1 Sud de la Foire de Bâle achevée en 2013, tout a été mis en œuvre pour atteindre la meilleure efficacité énergétique possible, aussi bien en ce qui concerne l’isolation de l’enveloppe du bâtiment qu’une production respectueuse des ressources de l’énergie thermique et frigorifique nécessaire. Tous les systèmes de chauffage, de ventilation et de froid sont commandés en fonction des besoins et la chaleur perdue est en grande partie récupérée.

L’organisme de certification Minergie de Bâle-Ville lui a attribué le label Minergie BS-054. Ce certificat a été mis au point spécialement pour ce bâtiment de foires. La nouvelle halle d’exposition respecte en outre les valeurs cibles de la norme SIA 380/4 concernant l’éclairage et la ventilation/climatisation.

Amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique

Le canton de Bâle-Ville exige des grands consommateurs d’énergie tels que la Foire de Bâle qu’ils analysent leur consommation d’énergie et mettent en œuvre des mesures de réduction de la consommation. La directive cantonale prévoit une amélioration annuelle de 2 % de l’efficacité de l’énergie électrique et de l’énergie thermique. Cet objectif doit être atteint à partir de 2020.

La Foire de Bâle est soutenue par Industrielle Werke Basel (IWB) dans la mise en œuvre de cette obligation légale. IWB réalise une analyse de l’état actuel et du potentiel concernant l’approvisionnement en énergie ainsi qu’une liste de mesures visant à accroître l’efficacité énergétique. Ils élaborent en outre une convention d’objectifs cantonale avec l’Office de l’environnement et de l’énergie (OEE). Cette convention d’objectifs est l’un des modèles proposés par le canton de Bâle-Ville pour la mise en œuvre des prescriptions légales. Elle présente l’avantage d’évaluer et d’optimiser l’infrastructure du parc des expositions dans son ensemble. IWB est responsable de l’établissement d’un rapport annuel à l’intention du service cantonal de l’énergie. Un premier rapport sur ce sujet sera produit pour l’année 2020.


Energie solaire

Les installations photovoltaïques sur les toits de la foire de bâle produisent de l’électricité solaire pour environ 300 maisons individuelles avec un foyer de quatre personnes.
Photovoltaik
Dès 1999, une installation photovoltaïque avec végétalisation intégrée de la toiture a été installée sur le toit de la Halle 1 Nord à Bâle pour exploiter l’énergie solaire. D’une surface de panneaux de 1 900 m², elle a une production annuelle de 215 000 kWh. Une installation quatre fois plus grande a été construite sur le toit végétalisé de la nouvelle halle 1 Sud achevée en 2013. Cette installation photovoltaïque, qui a été réalisée en coopération avec un investisseur, injecte chaque année environ 1 080 000 kWh d’électricité dans le réseau d’IWB (Industrielle Werke Basel) qui a repris l’installation en 2014.

Nous soutenons en outre la plateforme «Wettstein 21» qui est responsable de l’installation d’une nouvelle installation photovoltaïque sur le toit du Congress Center Basel. Celle-ci a été réalisée fin 2014 et fournit chaque année environ 180 000 kWh d’électricité. La surface de toiture a été mise à disposition gratuitement.

Logistik

Le trafic necessaire pour le montage et le démontage des manifestations est régi par des concepts logistiques et des regimes de circulation afin de limiter au maximum l’impact sur l’environnement et le voisinage.
Le trafic de livraison de la Foire de Bâle est géré par un régime de circulation via check-point, pour lequel un outil logistique en ligne spécifique a été développé. Tous les transports vers le site d’exposition doivent être annoncés à l’avance pour un créneau horaire défini. Depuis le check-point qu’ils doivent rejoindre, les chauffeurs sont dirigés à l’heure définie, par un itinéraire défini, vers la zone de livraison de la halle concernée, où ils doivent décharger ou charger dans un délai imparti. Cela permet de minimiser le trafic de recherche et les embouteillages. Nous veillons en outre à ce que les livraisons se fassent, autant que possible, par voie souterraine.

Pour pouvoir piloter toute la logistique de livraison et d’évacuation de façon optimale, tous les mouvements sur le site d’exposition sont gérés par le partenaire logistique de la Foire de Bâle, Sempex. Sempex a mis en place un système de gestion de la qualité selon la norme ISO 9001. La direction surveille en permanence la mise en œuvre des mesures définies pour atteindre les objectifs environnementaux et énergétiques. Ceux-ci sont fixés dans la politique environnementale et énergétique de l’entreprise, qui est constamment développée dans un souci d’amélioration continue.

Partager notre contenu avec d'autres